Books

Young Adult

BUY

BBC RADIO 4 WOMAN’S HOUR (listen here 14.40mins) 

BBC BREAKFAST TV (watch here) 

2019 THE GUARDIAN BEST BOOKS (read here) 

2020 WINNER: National Diverse Book AwardCoventry Inspiration Award • Bristol Teen Book Award

2020 SHORTLISTED: National Indie Book Award Berkshire Award • BSN Brilliant Award • Cumbria Spellbinding Award • Portsmouth Award • Sheffield Children’s Award 

2021 NOMINATED: CILIP Carnegie Medal

Ages: 12 to 100
Based on the real life events of Sue Cheung, this book is about Jo Kwan, a teenager growing up in 1980s Coventry with her crazy family and a series of unlucky pets. Jo lives above her parents’ Chinese takeaway and things can be tough – whether it’s racist customers or being bullied at school for being different. Even when she does find a friend, she still has to contend with her erratic dad’s behaviour. All Jo dreams of is breaking free and forging a career as an artist. Told in diary entries and doodles, Jo’s brilliantly funny observations about life, family and char siu make for a searingly honest and sometimes dark portrayal of life on the other side of the takeaway counter.

Middle Grade

Ages: 7+

The first in this laugh-out-loud series follows the adventures of Maddy, who tries to find her true talent but ends up in all kinds of sticky situations without meaning to! Chock-full of hilarious journal entries, cartoons and ‘How to…’ guides, it’s accessible for readers at all levels. A brilliantly diverse and inclusive read. A 2021 Indie Book of the Month.

Ages: 7+

This time Maddy is off to the seaside. Her biggest dream is to ride on the brand new, completely mind-blowing roller coaster, the Mega Beast! One problem: she has to take her annoying little brother and bonkers grandad along, when dealing with killer seagulls will be bad enough! Will they stop her from getting on the best ride ever?

Maddy Yip's Guide to Parties

***OUT 6TH APRIL 2023***

Ages: 7+ It’s Grandad’s birthday and Maddy has volunteered to organise the party as she is determined to make Agung’s 80th a day to remember. The TO-DO list is never-ending, but with the help of a lucky coin and her bezzie mate Dev, they manage to conjure up a star surprise that has everybody up and dancing!

Picture Books

Ages: 4 to 7

Rob is a burglar and he’s bad. Bob is his dog, and he’s really good. But he remains faithful to his horrible owner, helping him with robberies. One night Rob spot some parcels and can’t resist stealing them. When they turn out to be just a load of kid’s toys Rob is disgusted, but Bob feels sorry for the children, returns them, and gets a pleasant surprise!

Ages: 4 to 7

Angus is a gentle alien who loves his space garden. But his world is turned upside-down by the unwelcome arrival of naughty Alvin. When Alvin’s tricks misfire and turn him into a pin-size creature, Angus helps him recover – if he promises to behave and learn some manners. Maybe the two aliens will end up friends after all?

Ages: 3 to 7

This gold award-winning book introduces mindfulness using a fun to follow exercise. Lil takes Jake to the beach using visualisation and breathing techniques. Your child should enjoy the experience of stillness with your guidance, and be better prepared for a good night’s sleep! A great tool for teaching calmness in any situation. Watch the interview here.

Educational Books

Ages: 5 to 6

Yan loves painting but his little sister, Ling, will not stop marching, thumping and banging. Then disaster happens when Ling trips over. Has Yan’s precious artwork been ruined completely? This relatable story of siblings, is a phonics book that doesn’t read like one at all, due the fun, rich text.

Ages: 6 to 7

Bryan lives in a nice neighbourhood in America and does well in school. Then his mother gets a new job in China and Bryan’s family has to move. School in China is very different. Will Bryan ever get used to it? This book was written as part of a global literacy programme and teaches about cultural diversity and friendship.

Ages: 8 to 9

Great Granny Chan can’t wait for her holiday in England. But instead of the exciting trip she’d hoped for, her family have the most boring things planned. Can Great Granny Chan somehow have the holiday she wants – and keep it a secret from her family? A humorous tale about overcoming some of the hurdles of age and language differences.

Audio Books

Ages: 7+

Read by actress Emma Lau and talented cast, this madcap series is filled with belly-laughs, perfect for fans of Tom Gates and Sam Wu. The first book follows Maddy while she tries to find her true talent but ends up in all kinds of sticky situations, and in the follow-up, she has to contend with killer seagulls and pickled eggs to get a ride on her dream roller coaster! Available on Audible.

Ages: 3 to 7

Gold award-winning series read by actress and presenter Giovanna Fletcher. These ten fun adventure stories with engaging mindfulness exercises are specially designed to keep children entertained, while also supporting better mental health practices; from breathing techniques that help the body relax, to listening exercises to improve awareness. Each last 8 to 12 minutes to match little ones’ attention spans.

FREE